Victorville Marijuana Defense Lawyer
Let The Firm Protect Your Rights & Freedom
In November 2016, California voters approved the legalization of recreational marijuana, allowing adults over 21 years old to possess, privately use, and even grow several plants for personal use at home. Commercial production, sale, and distribution at state-licensed facilities began in 2018. Despite the recent laws, it is not uncommon for someone to be accused of mass-producing cannabis in a residence or operating a business without a license, which is why an experienced criminal defense lawyer can help.
If you or a loved one has been charged for marijuana cultivation and/or utility theft, do not wait to let Holistic Legal defend you against serious drug crime allegations. Attorney Parag P. Shah has extensive knowledge of both sides of the courtroom to give his clients the best possible defense to obtain the most favorable result in their case.
Call (760) 227-7625 for a free initial consultation to discuss your case with a
Victorville marijuana defense attorney.
California Cannabis Laws
According to California law, only adults who are 21 or older can carry, buy, or use recreational marijuana, whether it is in flower, edible, or even vape form. A person is allowed possess up to 28.5 grams (roughly an ounce) of flower-form marijuana and grow up to six plants at a time. When it comes to medical marijuana, patients may grow up to six mature cannabis plants, 12 immature plants, a greater amount based on the patient’s individual needs.
Marijuana Cultivation Penalties
Growing more than six plants is a misdemeanor offense, punishable by a jail term of up to six months and a maximum fine of $500. However, if a person cultivates more than six plants and has two or more prior convictions, has a serious violent felony on their criminal record, is a registered sex offender, or violates specific environmental laws due to their growing activities, then a first offense is a felony that carries a maximum three-year prison sentence and a fine not exceeding $10,000. Minors between the ages of 18 and 20 who are accused of cultivation will face a maximum $100 fine.
Furthermore, those accused of unlawful cultivation can also be charged with utility theft, which occurs when a person bypasses the utility company’s meter to steal electrical service, as well as prevent detection from the police and the utility company. Not only is this practice against the law, but it can also lead to a fire.
Ready to Defend You Today
Due to the severity of the penalties associated with unlawful cultivation, it is in your best interest to have a legal professional on your side. Attorney Shah provides all clients with attentive and responsive legal representation from start to finish. He has the experience and skills to protect your rights and freedom.
Contact the firm today for more information about our affordable and personalized legal services.
Charge Dismissed 2nd Degree Robbery & Assault Likely to Produce GBI ( Felony-Strike Offense)
Charge Reduced Arson & Insurance Fraud ( Felony-Strike Offense)
Case Dismissed: Domestic Violence Case Dismissed - Domestic Violence
Charge Dismissed: Murder Charge Dismissed - Murder
Case Reduced Corporal Injury to Spouse / Cohabitant (Domestic Violence Charges)
Case Dismissed Cruelty to a Child (Misdo)